Traveling with your 7 month old baby for the first time

I was so excited for these christmas holidays, I was going away for 10 days with my fiancé, Mateo and our extended family. We rented a house in Punta Cana, and I cannot emphasize how much I was craving the beach, tanning like an iguana and drinking unlimited piña coladas.

However, my expectations of what a vacation was like were completely trashed this time. Why? Well, I’m a mom now. The idea that I had about relaxing, tanning, drinking, sleeping, eating, reading, listening to music, swimming were okay when I was single…but now they were completely unrealistic.

I’ll be honest here. I was very frustrated the first couple of days of our trip. I thought that by having both of Mateo’s grandmas, all of his aunts, uncle and his grandpa, my fiancé and I would be able to relax and enjoy our holiday. But this was not the case.

Now that I think about it, it was very selfish of me to think this way because everyone was on vacation mode and everyone wanted to relax and enjoy their holidays. I couldn’t expect have my mom take care of Mati while I tanned for 2 hours, because she wanted to tan as well, she wanted to walk down the beach and go for a swim.

It took me about 4 days to realize this: I was Mateo’s mom, he needed me, my attention and my love. So I had to trash my unrealistic expectations and embrace the fact that my vacation was centered around my son and his well being. And let me tell you, once I accepted this, I was able to enjoy my holidays SO MUCH MORE!!!

When everyone was in the hot tub at 5:00pm drinking cold Corona’s, I was in my bedroom dealing with a hungry and tired baby who needed to be showered and had to take a nap. So I just lay there in bed, with Mateo on my chest trying to put him to sleep. I would close my eyes and smile, and whisper to his ear “I love you, and I will always take care of you”.

I am now prepared for my next vacation in terms of expectations. As I am sure I will be able to enjoy them much more.

How was your experience?

Truly yours. Gbs

fam-playamati-oso

Mati sand.JPG

 

Leave a comment